EducationGeneral

List of Universities In Nigeria 2018

By November 1, 2017 No Comments

ist of Universities in Nigeria 2017

The first University in Nigeria was founded long before the nation attained its independence from Britain in 1960. The history of University Education in modern Nigeria dates from 1948 when the University College of Ibadan was established. For more than a decade, the college remained the only University in Nigeria.

“EDUCATION IS THE MOST POWERFUL WEAPON WE CAN USE TO CHANGE THE WORLD”

– NELSON MANDELA

After independence in 1960, the three regional governments set up their respective flagship universities.  The eastern region blazed the trail in 1960 when it established the University of Nigeria in Nsukka, present-day Enugu state. Not long after, both the Western and Northern regions established University of Ife, Ile Ife and Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria respectively in 1962.

For almost four decades after independence, setting up of universities was the exclusive preserve of the government (federal, regional and state). This changed in 1999 with the establishment of two private universities; Igbinedion University and Madonna University.

Today, Nigeria has a total of 153 universities.

In recent times the task of setting up new universities has been taken up by private bodies- individuals, religious bodies etc who want to meet the high demand for tertiary education by Nigerians.

In the table below we have compiled the list of all Universities in Nigeria today (2017).

 

Federal Universities CURRENT VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE YEAR FOUNDED
University of Ibadan Professor Abel Idowu Olayinka http://www.ui.edu.ng 1948
University of Nigeria, Nsukka Professor Benjamin C. Ozumba http://www.unn.edu.ng 1960
Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria Professor Ibrahim Garba http://www.abu.edu.ng 1962
Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife Professor Eyitope Ogunbodede http://www.oauife.edu.ng 1962
University of lagos Prof. Rahman A. Bello http://www.unilag.edu.ng 1962
University of Benin Professor Faraday Orumwense http://www.uniben.edu.ng 1970
Bayero University, Kano Professor Yahuza Muhammad Bello http://www.buk.edu.ng 1975
University of Calabar Prof. Zana Itinube Akpagu http://www.unical.edu.ng 1975
University of Ilorin Professor Abdulganiyu Ambali http://www.unilorin.edu.ng 1975
University of Jos Prof. Sebastian Maimako http://www.unijos.edu.ng 1975
University of Maiduguri Professor Ibrahim A. Njodi http://www.unimaid.edu.ng 1975
University of Port-Harcourt Professor Ndowa N Lale http://www.uniport.edu.ng 1975
Usumanu Danfodiyo University Professor Abdullahi Audu. Zuru http://www.udusok.edu.ng 1975
Federal University of Technology, Owerri Prof. Chigozie C. Asiabaka http://www.futo.edu.ng 1980
Federal University of Technology, Akure Prof. Adebiyi Gregory Daramola http://www.futa.edu.ng 1981
Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola Professor Kyari Mohammed http://www.mautech.edu.ng 1981
Federal University of Technology, Minna Professor Musibau Adewunmi Akanji http://www.futminna.edu.ng 1982
Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna Professor S.O Okeniyi http://www.nda.edu.ng 1985
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi Professor Saminu Ibrahim http://www.atbu.edu.ng 1988
University of Abuja, Gwagwalada Professor Machael Umale Adikwu http://www.uniabuja.edu.ng 1988
Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta Ag. Professor Ololade Enikuomehin http://www.unaab.edu.ng 1988
University of Agriculture, Makurdi Prof. Emmanuel I. Kucha http://www.uam.edu.ng 1988
University of Uyo Professor Enefiok Essien http://www.uniuyo.edu.ng 1991
Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike Professor Francis O Otunta http://www.mouau.edu.ng 1992
Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka Professor Joseph E. Ehaneku http://www.unizik.edu.ng 1992
National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos Professor Abdalla Uba Adamu http://www.nou.edu.ng 2002
Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun Prof. Akii Ibhadode http://www.fupre.edu.ng 2007
Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State Professor Fatima Batoul Muktar http://www.fud.edu.ng/ 2011
Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina Professor Haruna Abdu Kaita http://www.fudutsinma.edu.ng 2011
Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State Prof. Alhassan Mohammed Gani http://www.fukashere.edu.ng 2011
Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State Professor Muhammad Sanusi Liman http://www.fulafia.edu.ng 2011
Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State Professor Angela Freeman Miri http://www.fulokoja.edu.ng 2011
Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State Professor Chinedum Nwajiuba http://www.funai.edu.ng 2011
Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa Professor Seth Accra Jaja http://www.fuotuoke.edu.ng/ 2011
Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State Prof. Kayode Soremekun http://www.fuoye.edu.ng/ 2011
Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State Professor Mohammed Kundiri http://www.fuwukari.edu.ng/ 2011
Federal University Gashua, Yobe Prof. Andrew Haruna http://www.fugashua.edu.ng 2013
Federal University, Birnin Kebbi Prof. Auwal H Yadudu http://www.fubk.edu.ng 2013
Federal University, Gusau Zamfara Prof. Magaji Garba http://www.fugus.edu.ng 2013
Nigeria Police Academy Wudil Professor Munzali Jibril http://www.npf.gov.ng 2013
State Universities CURRENT VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE YEAR FOUNDED
River State University of Science and Technology Prof. Blessing Chimezie Didia http://www.ust.edu.ng 1979
Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma Professor Ignatius A. Onimawo http://www.aauekpoma.edu.ng 1980
Abia State University, Uturu Prof. E. Uche Ikonne http://www.absu.edu.ng 1981
Ekiti State University Prof. Samuel Oye Bandele http://www.eksu.edu.ng 1982
Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu Professor Cyprian C. Onyeji http://www.esut.edu.ng 1982
Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye Prof Saburi Adejimi Adesanya http://www.oouagoiwoye.edu.ng 1982
Lagos State University, Ojo Prof. John Oladapo Obafunwa http://www.lasu.edu.ng 1983
Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso Prof. Adeniyi S Gbadegesin http://www.lautech.edu.ng 1990
Benue State University, Makurdi Professor Charity A. Angya http://www.bsum.edu.ng 1992
Delta State University Abraka Professor Victor Peretomode http://www.delsu.edu.ng 1992
Imo State University, Owerri Prof. B.E.B. Nwoke http://www.imsu.edu.ng 1992
Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Professor Mahzeem O. Mimiko http://www.adekunleajasinuniversity.edu.ng 1999
Kogi State University Anyigba Professor Hassan S. Isah http://www.ksu.edu.ng 1999
Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli Professor Fidelis Uzochukwu Okafor http://coou.edu.ng/ 2000
Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki Professor F. I. Idike, OON http://www.ebsu.edu.ng 2000
Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil Professor Ibrahim Garba http://www.kustportal.edu.ng 2000
Niger Delta University Yenagoa Prof. Humphrey Ogoni http://www.ndu.edu.ng 2000
Adamawa State University Mubi Professor Alkasum Abba http://www.adsu.edu.ng 2002
Nasarawa State University Keffi Prof. Muhammad Akaro Mainoma http://www.nsuk.edu.ng 2002
Cross River State University of Science &Technology, Calabar Professor Effiom Ene-Obong http://www.crutech.edu.ng 2004
Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe Professor Abdullahi Mahadi http://www.gomsu.org 2004
Kaduna State University, Kaduna Professor William Barnabas Qurix http://www.kasu.edu.ng 2004
Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai Professor Muhammad N Maiturare http://www.ibbu.edu.ng 2005
Plateau State University Bokkos Prof. Doknan Sheni http://www.plasu.edu.ng 2005
Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode Prof. Oluyemisi Obilade http://www.tasued.edu.ng 2005
Yobe State University, Damaturu Professor Musa Alabe http://www.ysu.edu.ng 2006
Kebbi State University, Kebbi Dr. Amina Abubakar http://www.ksusta.edu.ng 2006
Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina Prof. Idris Isa Funtua http://www.umyu.edu.ng 2006
Osun State University Osogbo Prof Oguntola Jelil Alamu (Ag) http://www.uniosun.edu.ng 2006
Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa Prof. Adegbite Adegoke Emmanuel http://www.osustech.edu.ng 2008
Taraba State University, Jalingo Prof. Mohammed S Yahaya http://www.tsuniversity.edu.ng 2008
Kwara State University, Ilorin Professor A. Na-Allah http://www.kwasu.edu.ng 2009
Sokoto State University Prof. Nuhu Yaqub http://www.ssu.edu.ng 2009
Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo Professor Eno James Ibanga http://www.aksu.edu.ng 2010
Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni Prof. R. D.Green-Osahogulu(Ag) http://www.iaue.edu.ng 2010
Bauchi State University, Gadau Prof. Ezzildin M. Abdulrahman http://www.basug.edu.ng 2011
Northwest University Kano Prof. Razali Agus http://www.nwu.edu.ng 2012
Oyo State Technical University Ibadan 2012
Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa Prof. Abdullahi Yusuf Ribadu http://www.slu.edu.ng 2013
Ondo State University of Medical Sciences Prof. Friday Okonofua 2015
Edo University Iyamo Prof. Emmanuel Aluyor (Ag) 2016
Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State Prof. Chima Iwuchukwu 2016
University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State 2016
Bornu State University, Maiduguri 2016
Private Universities CURRENT VICE CHANCELLOR WEBSITE YEAR FOUNDED
Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo Professor Kayode J. Makinde http://www.babcock.edu.ng 1999
Igbinedion University Okada Professor (Revd.) Eghosa E. Osaghae http://www.iuokada.edu.ng 1999
Madonna University, Okija Prof. Chucks E.Ezedum http://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng 1999
Bowen University, Iwo Professor. Matthews Akintunde Ojo http://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org 2001
Benson Idahosa University, Benin City Prof. Ernest B. Izevbigie http://www.idahosauniversity.com 2002
Covenant University Ota Prof. Aderemi A Atayero http://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng/ 2002
Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos Professor Juan Manuel Elegido http://www.pau.edu.ng 2002
American University of Nigeria, Yola Dr. Margee Ensign http://www.aun.edu.ng 2003
Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan Prof. K.T. Jaiyeoba http://www.acu.edu.ng 2005
Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin Professor S. A. Abdulkareem https://www.alhikmah.edu.ng 2005
Al-Qalam University, Katsina Prof. Shehu G. Ado http://www.auk.edu.ng 2005
Bells University of Technology, Otta Professor A. I. Adeyemi http://www.bellsuniversity.org 2005
Bingham University, New Karu Professor Samuel K Leonard http://www.binghamuni.edu.ng 2005
Caritas University, Enugu Professor L. C. Onukwube http://www.caritasuni.edu.ng/ 2005
CETEP City University, Lagos Professor Akin Aju http://www.cetepuniversity.com 2005
Crawford University Igbesa Prof. Samuel A. Ayanlaja http://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng 2005
Crescent University Professor Sherifdeen A. Tella http://www.crescent-university.edu.ng 2005
Kwararafa University, Wukari Professor Godwin Akpa http://www.wukarijubileeuniversity.org 2005
Lead City University, Ibadan Prof. Olufemi Onabajo http://www.lcu.edu.ng 2005
Novena University, Ogume Prof Chris Aniche Okoroafor http://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng 2005
Redeemer’s University, Mowe Professor Z. Debo Adeyewa http://www.run.edu.ng 2005
Renaissance University, Enugu Prof. Obiora S. Ejim http://www.renaissanceuniversityng.com 2005
University of Mkar, Mkar Prof. Emmanuel Hemen Agba http://www.unimkar.edu.ng 2005
Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji Professor Sola Fajana http://www.jabu.edu.ng 2006
Achievers University, Owo Professor Tunji Samuel Ibiyemi http://www.achievers.edu.ng 2007
African University of Science & Technology, Abuja Professor Charles Chidume (Ag) http://aust.edu.ng 2007
Caleb University, Lagos Professor Ayandiji D Aina http://www.calebuniversity.edu.ng 2007
Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo Prof. Bashir A.Raji http://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng 2007
Obong University, Obong Ntak Professor Enefiok S. Udo http://www.obonguniversity.net 2007
Salem University, Lokoja Prof. Joseph Adeola Fuwape http://www.salemuniversity.org 2007
Tansian University, Umunya Professor C.B Iwuchukwu http://tansianuniversity.edu.ng/ 2007
Veritas University Prof. David Ker http://www.veritas.edu.ng 2007
Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo Professor ‘Tade Badejo http://www.wusto.edu.ng 2007
Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State Prof. Austin Oviguhe Asagba http://wdu.edu.ng 2007
Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State Professor M.O Ajisafe http://www.abuad.edu.ng 2009
Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State Prof. (Revd.) Chikelu. Anieke http://www.gouni.edu.ng 2009
Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja Professor Huseyin Sert http://www.ntnu.edu.ng 2009
Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State Prof. (Mrs) Olajumoke A. Olayiwola (Ag) http://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng 2009
Paul University, Awka – Anambra State Professor Uche Abanike http://www.pauluniversity.edu.ng 2009
Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State Professor O. C. Onwudike http://www.rhemauniversity.edu.ng 2009
Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State Professor J. E. A. Osemeikhian http://www.wellspringuniversity.net 2009
Adeleke University, Ede Prof. Samuel E Alao http://www.adelekeuniversity.edu.ng 2011
Baze University Prof. Michael Hodd http://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng 2011
Landmark University, Omu-Aran. Professor Mathew Ola-Rotimi Ajayi http://www.lmu.edu.ng 2011
Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa. Prof. Benard E. Aigbokhan http://www.sau.edu.ng 2011
Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin Prof. Adekunle Oloyede http://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng 2012
Evangel University, Akaeze Prof. C. Ike Umechuruba http://www.evangeluniv.edu.ng 2012
Gregory University, Uturu Prof. Juliet Elu http://www.gregoryuniversity.com 2012
Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo Prof. Adeniyi Agunbiade http://www.mcu.edu.ng 2012
Southwestern University, Oku Owa Prof. Babatunde A Ikotun http://www.southwesternuniversity.edu.ng 2012
Augustine University Prof. Steve OlaOluwa Afolami http://www.augustineuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
Chrisland University Prof Olusola Odeyemi http://www.chrislanduniversity.edu.ng 2015
Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo Prof. Timothy O Olagbemiro http://www.edwinclarkuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
Hallmark University Prof. Segun Odunola http://www.hallmark.edu.ng 2015
Hezekiah University, Umudi Prof. Chukwuemeka Ezeonu http://hezekiah.edu.ng/ 2015
Kings University Prof. Diran Famurewa http://www.kingsuniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
Micheal & Cecilia University Prof. (Mrs.) Ibiynka A. Fuwape http://mciu.edu.ng/ 2015
Mountain Top University Prof Elijah Ayolabi http://www.mountaintopuniversity.org/ 2015
Ritman University http://www.ritmanuniversity.edu.ng 2015
Summit University 2015
Christopher University Mowe Prof. Friday Ndubuisi http://www.christopheruniversity.edu.ng/ 2015
Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State 2016
Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State 2016
Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State 2016
Legacy University, Okija Anambra State 2016
Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State 2016
Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State 2016
Coal City University Enugu State 2016
Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State 2016
0
HeartHeart
0
HahaHaha
0
LoveLove
0
WowWow
0
YayYay
0
SadSad
0
PoopPoop
0
AngryAngry
Voted Thanks!

Leave a Reply